In Your State

States have the ability to set a higher wage supplement, as thirty states and the District of Columbia have done. Seven states have mandated that employers pay tipped employees a wage supplement equal to the full state minimum. Find out the tipped wage in your state below.

 

Find Your State

Compare State Information

State 2014 Minimum Wage 2014 Tipped Wage
Alabama $7.25 $2.13
Alaska $7.75 $7.75
Arizona $7.90 $4.90
Arkansas $7.25 $2.63
California $9.00 $9.00
Colorado $8.00 $4.90
Connecticut $8.70 $5.69
Delaware $7.75 $2.23
District of Columbia $8.25 $2.77
Florida $7.93 $4.91
Georgia $7.25 $2.13
Hawaii $7.25 $7.00
Idaho $7.25 $3.35
Illinois $8.25 $4.95
Indiana $7.25 $2.13
Iowa $7.25 $4.35
Kansas $7.25 $2.13
Kentucky $7.25 $2.13
Louisiana $7.25 $2.13
Maine $7.50 $3.75
Maryland $7.25 $3.63
Massachusetts $8.00 $2.63
Michigan $7.40 $2.65
Minnesota $8.00 $8.00
Mississippi $7.25 $2.13
Missouri $7.50 $3.75
Montana $7.90 $7.90
Nebraska $7.25 $2.13
Nevada $8.25 $8.25
New Hampshire $7.25 $3.27
New Jersey $8.25 $2.13
New Mexico $7.50 $2.13
New York $8.00 $5.00
North Carolina $7.25 $2.13
North Dakota $7.25 $4.86
Ohio $7.95 $3.98
Oklahoma $7.25 $2.13
Oregon $9.10 $9.10
Pennsylvania $7.25 $2.83
Rhode Island $8.00 $2.89
South Carolina $7.25 $2.13
South Dakota $7.25 $2.13
Tennessee $7.25 $2.13
Texas $7.25 $2.13
Utah $7.25 $2.13
Vermont $8.73 $4.23
Virginia $7.25 $2.13
West Virginia $7.25 $2.13
Wisconsin $7.25 $2.33
Wyoming $7.25 $2.13

The tipped and minimum wage rates reported here are the rates that apply to ‘large’ businesses with tipped employees that are covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act.